LibGuides: Research Project: Home

What makes a excellent Research question

Open-ended
Leads to asking other questions
Has more than a one word answer
Has more than one right answer
Requires effort and deep research
Not obvious or easily answered
Leads to multiple perspectives
Keeps you thinking/thought provoking
Could lead to controversy/debate

Quick Links

Library catalogue This link opens in a new window
Online Referencing Generator This link opens in a new window
Daymap This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Use Clickview player at home This link opens in a new window

Premier's Reading Challenge 2024

Daymap Connect (for parents) This link opens in a new window
Edpass student portal This link opens in a new window
Renmark Public Library catalogue This link opens in a new window
RHS Newsletter This link opens in a new window
Trove This link opens in a new window
National Archives of Australia This link opens in a new window
The Murray Pioneer This link opens in a new window
State Library of South Australia This link opens in a new window
RHS Librarything This link opens in a new window
OnGuard This link opens in a new window

SACE Information

Research advice
Includes documents on ethical Research, evaluating resources, guidelines for referencing and primary and secondary sources of information. A variety of these documents are available throughout this library guide.
SACE Research advice for students and families
Provides lots of information including the different assessment types for the Research Project.
SACE Research Home page
Provides an overview of the Research Project.

Organise your notes and evaluate sources as you go

Use this template to keep track of your notes and evaluate information sources as you go.

Information sources

Possible information sources

Click on the following links to access a variety of information sources which may help you as you answer your Research Project question. Please ask the library staff for more information. All these information sources (apart from the library catalogue) are available 24/7 and not just on the school network.

RHS library catalogue
Available to search 24/7. You will need your B0794 number from your ID card followed by your unique numbers as your user name and leave the password blank.
Renmark Public Library Catalogue
To borrow you will need to be a one card member. Available 24/7. To put a hold on resources you will need to type in your public library barcode and pin (last four digits of your barcode).
Journals and Newspapers
Database name eLibrary. Available 24/7. Requires a username and password. Collect from the library staff.
eBooks
A large collection of nonfiction eBooks is available from the public library overdrive platform. To borrow you will need to be a one card member of your local public library. Download the Libby app to your smart device follow the prompts and start downloading and reading!
State Library of South Australia
The State Library provides home access to a large number of full text eResources on a wide range of subjects including science, eBooks, business, health and family history. Register for Home Access online and you will receive borrower information within 10 days. You will then be able to log in and search 24/7.
SA University libraries
Search the individual University Library catalogues for your information source. This link is to the University of Adelaide catalogue. You can use the print resources only within the library itself, including scanning information you require. Database access is unavailable.

The public library is a FANTASTIC resource

If you are a public library member (with a updated One Card membership) you can search the collections of 130 public libraries in South Australia and request resources straight from your computer and sent to the library of your choice. From the catalogue, find the information sources you are looking for, click hold and type in your borrower barcode in the barcode/username field and in the PIN field (only if you have a Renmark Public Library onecard) type in the last 4 digits of your borrower barcode. Choose the Renmark Public Library as your preferred library and they will be sent there and you will be notified either by phone, letter or email depending on your preference.

From their catalogue you also have access to online resources, in particular free digital magazines (RB digital magazines).

Want to know more? Contact the Renmark Public Library on 8586 5544 or start searching right now on their catalogue.

Michael Scott from the office on Wikipedia

Research Project information

Pick up the RHS Research Project brochure from the library which includes access to information sources you can use for your research project. It includes any usernames and passwords you will need to sign into databases.

On magazines and journals

What is the difference between the various description of journals or magazines? These descriptions are from Piedmont College Library (American):

Keep evaluating your information sources!

As you look at information sources found on the internet, remember to test them for Relevance, Credibility and Bias. The attached document gives further information on what to look for to make sure the information you are using meets this test.

Evaluating the internet

Research Project: Home

Welcome to the Research Project