Skip to main content

Middle Ages: Daily Life

Daily Life of Peasants

Use these websites as a starting point to begin your journal for your medieval person. There are other print and digital resources you can find by searching the library catalogue. Use Search and use keywords such as Peasants or a general keyword Fuedalism OR Middle Ages.

The following title is a digital book. Click on the cover below to take you to the eBook and the information it contains including information about peasants. If you click on it out of school hours you will need a password from the school library.

If you want to create a reference for the Medieval Life eBook for your bibliography using the ORG, choose Book - electronic and eBook from a database with author.

Daily Life of a King

Use these websites as a starting point to begin your journal for your medieval person. There are other print and digital resources you can find by searching the library catalogue. Use Search and use keywords such as Medieval King or a general keyword Fuedalism OR Middle Ages.

Library Books on the Middle Ages

Fuedalism

The 'feudal system' is the name for a power structure where people held their land in return for promising loyalty, known as doing homage, and providing services such as working or fighting for their lord.

Source : The Fuedal System and the Doomsday Book

Library Catalogue Search Tips

When you are creating a fictional journal entry based around the life of a medieval person living under feudalism search the library catalogue using Search and type in your search term and then click on the keywords search option. Depending on your person use the following search terms.

For a Lord or Lady use the search term medieval nobles

For a Serf use the search term medieval peasants

For a  King or Queen use the search term  medieval king

For a Knight use the search term Knights and/or medieval warfare

For a general search use the search term Middle Ages

OR

For this topic you can also use Visual Search - click on on the Middle Ages icon - click on the medieval person you have chosen for relevant information resources. Search on the shelves for them using the call number (which finds its location on the nonfiction shelves).

Creating your bibliography using the Online Referencing Generator

  • A bibliography is a list of information sources known as references which you have used in your research.
  • The Online Referencing Generator (ORG) is a web tool that automatically creates your references for your bibliography in a style known as the Harvard Author-Date System.
  • The following five steps show you how to use the ORG and step six shows you what your bibliography should look like.
  • Click on ORG once you have looked at the five steps.
  • The link to the ORG is always available from the library webpage in the Quick Links box along with other web based research tools or in the libguides that you are using for your research.
  • Once you click on the link you are taken to a username and password. The username is left blank and the password is available from the library staff or your teacher.
  • Click on the Let's begin tab on the Middle School Bibliography option as shown below.

 

  • From the nine major types of information sources, look for the type of information source you are using and click on the correct link for that source.

 

 

  • For example : If you have a printed book with one author click on the first choice from the Book - printed source OR if you have a website without a author click on the fifth choice from the Website source.

 

  • Once you have clicked on your information source the screen below comes up with fields based on your choice of information source.
  • In this example you would fill in the following fields with the information from a printed book with an author.
  • You will always need to use capital letters as this is the only formatting the ORG does not automatically do.
  • If you choose a website as your information source you will need to fill in a field called Source. Look at your website and locate the publisher of the page as your source.
  • Click on Create citation once all the fields are filled in.

  • The citation will appear similar to the example below.
  • Highlight, copy and paste your reference into your own file either on your USB or on your student drive on the public share.
  • Notice the ORG formats and punctuates your reference automatically.
  • The Note: information always appears when you create your citation to remind you to arrange your references into alphabetical order by the first word when you are completing your bibliography.

  • Your bibliography is usually handed up as a separate page or slide (in a powerpoint) and attached to your assignment.
  • Click here to go to the ORG.
  • This is an example of a completed bibliography. Notice the heading and the references are in alphabetical order by the first word :

Bibliography

Eastwood, K 2004, Women and girls in the Middle Ages, Crabtree, New York.

Medieval Lords 2014, Medieval Life and Times, accessed 3 May 2015, <http://www.medieval-life-and-times.info/medieval-life/medieval-lords.htm>.

 

Loading

Library books on the Middle Ages

Daily Life of Lords / Ladies

Use these websites as a starting point to begin your journal for your medieval person. There are other print and digital resources you can find by searching the library catalogue. Use Search and use keywords such as Nobles or a general keyword Fuedalism OR Middle Ages.

The following title is a digital book. Click on the cover below to take you to the eBook and the information it contains including information about the Lord and Lady of the Manor. If you click on it out of school hours you will need a password from the school library.

If you want to create a reference for the Knight eBook for your bibliography using the ORG, choose Book - electronic and eBook from a database with author.

Daily life of Knights

Use these websites as a starting point to begin your journal for your medieval person. There are other print and digital resources you can find by searching the library catalogue. Use Search and use keywords such as Knights or a general keyword Fuedalism OR Middle Ages.

The following titles are digital books. Click on either of the covers below to take you to the eBook and the information it contains inclucing information about knights. If you click on them out of school hours you will need a password from the school library.

If you want to create a reference for the either eBooks for your bibliography using the ORG, choose Book - electronic and eBook from a database with author.

Library Books on the Middle Ages