Skip to main content

Uranium mining in Kakadu National Park: Home

This Guide is a starting point for researching your issue investigation "Should a uranium mine be built in the Kakadu National Park".

Books from the Library

Evaluating Information Sources found on the internet

As you look at information sources found on the internet, remember to test them for Currency, Reliability, Authority and their Purpose or Point of View. This is particularly important for this research assignment as you are investigating a controversial issue which has many points of view. The attached document gives further information on what to look for to make sure the information you are using meets this test.

+1 paragraph and Issues Analysis scaffold

Use the included information to structure and include the appropriate language for your Issues Analysis.

Clickview Digital Video Collection

 

 

This video which goes for about 6 minutes and published in 2013 gives a great overview of Kakadu National Park. It provides a brief history of the park including the conflicts between Uranium mining and conservation, environmental and economic needs as well as various interest groups including local and the indigenous communities living around the park.

Watch this video using the Clickview Player by clicking on the following icon which is located on the school computer desktops.

Once the Player loads, click on search and type in Kakadu. The video will come up and you can watch and listen to it. You can also watch it at home using Clickview Online. The username and passwords for Clickview online are available from the library.

To include this information source in your bibliography, choose Digital library (under Audiovisual material) in the Online Referencing Generator to generate a reference.

Nuclear Energy Debate (print copy or ebook)

                                      

Borrow it as a printed book (on the library shelves at 333.7924 NUC) or as an ebook. To download the ebook, go to the public drive on the curriculum network find the library folder - Issues in Society folder and locate it in the list of issues by alphabetical order. Click on the title and the PDF will load. Copy it for your use.

It includes a chapter on Nuclear Energy in Australia : advantages and disadvantages and Uranium Mining in Australia. It also includes websites that you can click on for further information sources about this topic.
 
To include this information source in your bibliography, choose ebook with author (under Book-electronic) in the Online Referencing Generator to generate a reference for your bibliography. In the URL field type in nuclear energy debate.pdf.

How to create your references using the Online Referencing Generator

  • A bibliography is a list of information sources known as references which you have used in your research.
  • The Online Referencing Generator (ORG) is a web tool that automatically creates your references for your bibliography in a style known as the Harvard Author-Date System.
  • The following five steps show you how to use the ORG and step six shows you what your bibliography should look like.
  • Click on ORG once you have looked at the five steps.
  • The link to the ORG is always available from the library webpage in the Quick Links box along with other web based research tools or in the libguides that you are using for your research.
  • Once you click on the link you are taken to a username and password. The username is left blank and the password is available from the library staff or your teacher.
  • Click on the Let's begin tab on the Middle School Bibliography option as shown below.

 

  • From the nine major types of information sources, look for the type of information source you are using and click on the correct link for that source.

 

 

  • For example : If you have a printed book with one author click on the first choice from the Book - printed source OR if you have a website without a author click on the fifth choice from the Website source.

 

  • Once you have clicked on your information source the screen below comes up with fields based on your choice of information source.
  • In this example you would fill in the following fields with the information from a printed book with an author.
  • You will always need to use capital letters as this is the only formatting the ORG does not automatically do.
  • If you choose a website as your information source you will need to fill in a field called Source. Look at your website and locate the publisher of the page as your source.
  • Click on Create citation once all the fields are filled in.

  • The citation will appear similar to the example below.
  • Highlight, copy and paste your reference into your own file either on your USB or on your student drive on the public share.
  • Notice the ORG formats and punctuates your reference automatically.
  • The Note: information always appears when you create your citation to remind you to arrange your references into alphabetical order by the first word when you are completing your bibliography.

  • Your bibliography is usually handed up as a separate page or slide (in a powerpoint) and attached to your assignment.
  • Click here to go to the ORG.
  • This is an example of a completed bibliography. Notice the heading and the references are in alphabetical order by the first word :

Bibliography

Eastwood, K 2004, Women and girls in the Middle Ages, Crabtree, New York.

Medieval Lords 2014, Medieval Life and Times, accessed 3 May 2015, <http://www.medieval-life-and-times.info/medieval-life/medieval-lords.htm>.

 

What is in text referencing?

  • Within the text of your assignment you must acknowledge the author/authoring body or the title of the information source, the date it was published and the page numbers (if known) you are using.

Why do you need to reference?

  • Referencing is used to acknowledge that an idea, image (or the exact words) used within a piece of writing (or non-written text) is that of another person.
  • Referencing shows respect for other people’s intellectual rights and avoids plagiarism.
  • In-text referencing is used to support the information you use in your assignments.

What are the two types of in-text references?

  • You can either use the author's direct words (direct quote) written within quotation marks OR a summary of their ideas (indirect quote).

What is included in a in-text reference?

  • For either a quote or a indirect quote you use the author's surname or authoring body or title of the information source, date and page number (from where you have obtained the quote or the idea if you can) in round brackets. For example (Smith 2016) or (Smith 2016, pg. 5). Notice there isn't a comma between the name and the date and if there is a page number, follow the date by a comma pg. number and close the round bracket followed by a full stop.

What is a reference list?

  • A reference list includes the quotes and indirect quotes you have used in your assignment and is created on a separate sheet and attached to your assignment.
  • Use the Online Referencing Generator to generate your references which are put into alphabetical order under the title Reference List.

Use the word document below In text reference table to organise and keep track of your in text references.

The included PDF What technological devices are used to detect volcanoes has several in-text reference examples and a Reference List to help you use and understand in-text referencing.

  • Intext references highlighted in yellow are indirect quotes (summary of the author's idea)
  • The intext reference highlighted in blue is a direct quote (the ... (three dots) are used if you do not want to include the entire sentence)
  • The intext reference highlighted in grey is a reference to a figure (diagram) (start from figure 1 and continue numerically)

 

Loading

Uranium facts sheet

The following fact sheet includes scientific background information about uranium.

For your bibliography use the ORG Senior Bibliography and choose Website PDF without author and fill in the fields with the information from the fact sheet. Copy and paste the following website address for the URL field :
http://www.industry.gov.au/resource/Documents/
Mining/uranium/1UsesforUranium.pdf.

Uranium mining in Kakadu

Keep in mind when you are using these websites that they may be published by groups with differing interests in the debate on Uranium mining in Kakadu.