Skip to main content

Paddock to Wardrobe: Assessment requirements

You are commissioned by Cotton Australia to visit the Riverland Field Days in 2016 in order to inform the farmers in the region about Cotton Production.

Paddock to Wardrobe Library Guide

This library guide (libguide) is a starting point for your Paddock to Wardrobe assignment. You will find the tools you need to create a flow chart template, a bibliography and research help to create your brainstorming sheet.

                 

Production Cycle of Cotton Flow Chart

Before you create your flow chart of the cotton production cycle you should :

  • Gather your information first which will determine the layout and number of steps in your flow chart. Make sure you keep a record of your information sources for your bibliograpy.

  • Gather your pictures which will complement each step in the production flow chart (if you are going to use pictures). Make sure you keep a record of where you obtain your pictures for your bibliography.

Your Finished product

If you choose to present your information as a pamphlet or brochure, you can use a template in Microsoft Publisher to create it. Open Microsoft Publisher and click on brochures from the Most Popular choices. Choose the template design you like and start adding your own information.

Remember you have been commissioned by Cotton Australia to inform Riverland farmers about cotton production. Ms Smith has examples of agricultural brochures if you want some ideas. Just ask!

 

 

Brainstorming sheet

Your brainstorming sheet will help you to :

  •  Identify all the stages in the cotton production cycle you will need to research;
  • Organise your notes as you find information;
  • Recognise the major keywords that are involved in the production of cotton and which will help you to search for more information;
  • Keep you on track.

 

REMEMBER : You have to pass up your brainstorming chart as part of your assessment.

Create a bibliography using ORG

This online database automatically creates references for your bibliography from a wide range of information sources using the Harvard Author-Date System and for senior students it includes examples of intext references for these sources.

The password is available from the library circulation desk.

Creating your bibliography using the Online Referencing Generator

  • A bibliography is a list of information sources known as references which you have used in your research.
  • The Online Referencing Generator (ORG) is a web tool that automatically creates your references for your bibliography in a style known as the Harvard Author-Date System.
  • The following five steps show you how to use the ORG and step six shows you what your bibliography should look like.
  • Click on ORG once you have looked at the five steps.
  • The link to the ORG is always available from the library webpage in the Quick Links box along with other web based research tools or in the libguides that you are using for your research.
  • Once you click on the link you are taken to a username and password. The username is left blank and the password is available from the library staff or your teacher.
  • Click on the Let's begin tab on the Middle School Bibliography option as shown below.

 

  • From the nine major types of information sources, look for the type of information source you are using and click on the correct link for that source.

 

 

  • For example : If you have a printed book with one author click on the first choice from the Book - printed source OR if you have a website without a author click on the fifth choice from the Website source.

 

  • Once you have clicked on your information source the screen below comes up with fields based on your choice of information source.
  • In this example you would fill in the following fields with the information from a printed book with an author.
  • You will always need to use capital letters as this is the only formatting the ORG does not automatically do.
  • If you choose a website as your information source you will need to fill in a field called Source. Look at your website and locate the publisher of the page as your source.
  • Click on Create citation once all the fields are filled in.

  • The citation will appear similar to the example below.
  • Highlight, copy and paste your reference into your own file either on your USB or on your student drive on the public share.
  • Notice the ORG formats and punctuates your reference automatically.
  • The Note: information always appears when you create your citation to remind you to arrange your references into alphabetical order by the first word when you are completing your bibliography.

  • Your bibliography is usually handed up as a separate page or slide (in a powerpoint) and attached to your assignment.
  • Click here to go to the ORG.
  • This is an example of a completed bibliography. Notice the heading and the references are in alphabetical order by the first word :

Bibliography

Eastwood, K 2004, Women and girls in the Middle Ages, Crabtree, New York.

Medieval Lords 2014, Medieval Life and Times, accessed 3 May 2015, <http://www.medieval-life-and-times.info/medieval-life/medieval-lords.htm>.

 

Loading