LibGuides: Paddock to Wardrobe: Conventional Cotton

Viewing youtube clips at school

To view the youtube clips at school go to the PUBLIC network, search for the 8 Home Economics folder and click on the Cotton videos folder. Choose either Conventional or Organic cotton depending on your research.

Create a bibliography using ORG

This online database automatically creates references for your bibliography from a wide range of information sources using the Harvard Author-Date System and for senior students it includes examples of intext references for these sources.

The password is available from the library circulation desk.

Useful print resources in the RHS library

Available on the shelves at
677.21 OXL

How to grow a pair of jeans - Cotton Australia

A slide show which traces cotton from a seed to a pair of jeans.

Cotton Australia Factsheets

Cotton Australia is the peak body for Australia’s cotton growing industry, supporting over 1500 cotton farming families in NSW and Queensland.

The following are links to Fact Sheets produced by Cotton Australia and are a great overview of Cotton Production.

The Australian Cotton Industry This link opens in a new window
This fact sheet gives general information about the cotton industry in Australia such as ...cotton is mostly grown in the 400-800mm summer rainfall zone in Queensland and NSW, which means cotton crops can receive significant amounts of their water needs from rain during the growing season.
Cotton's Growing Cycle This link opens in a new window
This fact sheet is useful for your flow chart as it looks at the Australian cotton grower’s calendar.
Processing, exporting and marketing This link opens in a new window
A great fact sheet for finding out about the processing of cotton.
The Cotton plant This link opens in a new window
Includes all sorts of interesting facts about the cotton plant including...All parts of the cotton plant are used. Cotton fibre is processed into yarn and fabric, the seeds can be crushed for oil or animal feed, the remaining plant is mulched and even the linters are used to make products like cotton balls.
Water and Cotton This link opens in a new window
This includes all sorts of water efficient facts about cotton production such as...cotton is an efficient plant, with the latest industry data showing approximately 70% of all water is used by the crop. This indicates that there is now less on-farm water losses and more of the water is used by the crop.

Sustainability
Outlines several environmental impacts of cotton production.

All Fact Sheets from Cotton Australia This link opens in a new window

Further Cotton Australia Resources

These information sources are linked to dynamic resources such as video, websites, research and case studies.

Click here to view/download How Cotton is Grown Part Two.

The Australian Cotton story

This clip was published by Cotton Australia on January 28, 2013. It provides an overview of Cotton production in Australia.

For your bibliography https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cbKh1Xtfmao&list=UUcTsQcz7PRPX1bl3J3ORv-g

Cotton best practices with the Austin Family

Uploaded on October 31 2012, this video looks at one Australian families cotton farm in Queensland. Watch the video to hear about their work to adopt Best Practice Techniques (BMP) to grow sustainable cotton. Click here for a fact sheet about BMP. Published by the Fitzroy Basin Association.

For your bibliography the authoring body is the Fitzroy Basin Association and the web address is http://www.fba.org.au/portfolio/portfolio1/

Visual story of Cotton

This prezi was published on 12 September, 2013 by Cotton Australia.

For your bibliography http://prezi.com/tzrjuk06rqih/visual-story-of-cotton/

How does cotton grow in Australia...Like this!

Uploaded on Feb 6, 2012

This video uploaded on February 6, 2012 gives a basic recount of an Australian cotton season on a farm. The cotton growers are irrigated growers from Mungindi in NSW and their average yield is 5-5.25 bales per acre.

For your bibliography the author is Bess Gairns, the date accessed is the date you watch it in the following format, example 22 November 2015 and the website address is https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzLqkaou6JI

Processing and Manufacturing Fact sheets

These PDFs will provide additional information about the Processing and Manufature of Cotton.

Turning cotton into yarn (Processing)

This video is an example of a spinning mill. Uploaded on Jun 3, 2010

Nan Yang Textile Co., Ltd. is the spinning mill of the Nan Yang Textile Group. The dyeing and finishing of yarn is done at the Nan Yang Knitting factory. Nan Yang Knitting Factory is a textile dyeing and finishing company, active in custom pre-treatment, scouring, bleaching, calendering, and specialty finishing of cotton and cotton-blended yarn and fabrics.

For your bibliography the authoring body is Nan Yang Textile Group and the web address is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tLQRawPzU8

Turning the cotton yarn into fabric (manufacturing)

This video was made in 2012 by Self Edge Denim.

For your bibliography the authoring body is Self Edge Denim and the web address is http://vimeo.com/38817626

How Green are your Jeans video on Clickview

Remember the video you saw in class about Organic and Conventional Cotton growing? If not go to the clickview player on the computer desktop and relook at it. It outlines the differences between the two.

Search : How green are your jeans : fibre growing and textile manufacture and watch chapters 2, 3 and 4 (only 6 minutes)

To use this as a reference, use ORG choose Senior Bibliography and use Audiovisual material - digital library and click on digital library.