LibGuides: Popular Culture: Television

Television Clips

Television programs 1950s -2010 This link opens in a new window
Includes clips and information on major Australian TV programs from Australian Screen.

Australian Women's Weekly 1933 -1982

Search digitised editions of the Australian Women's Weekly from 1940s - 1982 to find information on your topic. Include in your seach the year you are looking for if you know it.

Film and Television

Search Australian Screen content and events through an interactive timeline (1940s - 2010s) in Australian TV and Feature Film.

Australia 1940 - 2000s History

Pop culture in post-war Australia This link opens in a new window
Outlines the rise of 'teenage culture' in Australia after World War 2.
Australia's social and cultural history in the post-war period This link opens in a new window
Covers social and cultural features of the decades 1940s-1990s including Music and entertainment, Fashion, Sport and American and British cultural influences. This website is published by Skwirk and after a period of time you will be asked to login.

General Television websites

Decade by decade of Australian television This link opens in a new window
Use the decade links across the bottom of the website banner starting with 1950s - 2019 to find out what was happening in TV and the programs that were popular.
Australian Television Information Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive source of information for popular Australian TV programs that have found fans around the world. The site has been updated continuously since 1998.
Television (1950s) This link opens in a new window
A brief overview of the beginning of television in Australia in the 1950s.
Television in Australia This link opens in a new window
A government website with a history of popular television in Australia across the decades with a list of useful links.
Classic Australian Television : the first 21 years of Australian television drama series This link opens in a new window
Lists classic Australian TV shows and has information on episodes, interviews, photos and chronological overview of programs.
Aussie Soap Archive :1967 - 1991 This link opens in a new window
Each entry includes an overview describing the shows style and format, details of the main characters in the series, the storylines explored during the show's run, and some behind-the-scenes information.
The Age : 50 years of televison article This link opens in a new window
Includes an overview of the first 50 years of television including references to overseas programs.
From wireless to web This link opens in a new window
Looking at the decades 1940s - 2000s at the advances in broadcast media in Australia from the broadcast of messages, cinema newsreel, radio, television and the internet.
Advertisements This link opens in a new window
A selection of Australian TV ads from 1940s - 1980s including the ad itself and associated information.
Popular television in Australia This link opens in a new window
Excellent outline of the major years of Australian television published by Skwirk. Any additional access to this site requires a login.

Celebrating the ABC

Looks at popular TV shows on the ABC 1956 - 2006. Click on the timeline and program to find out brief information and a short clip from the show. You can search by genre. Examples of shows include Dr Who, Kath and Kim and the Countdown.

Click here to watch ABC's first television broadcast.

To celebrate its 80th birthday, the ABC created 80 Days That Changed Our Lives to showcase audio visual treasures from the ABC's 80-year-old archives. Search by Themes or Timeline.